In 1968, 20 years after its own establishment, the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) founded the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA). The declared purpose of PRSSA is to cultivate a favorable and mutually advantageous relationship between students and professional public relations practitioners.

The student society aims to foster the following:

  • Understanding of current theories and procedures of the profession
  • Appreciation of the highest ethical ideals and principles
  • Awareness of an appropriate professional attitude
  • Appreciation of Associate Membership in PRSA and eventually accredited membership

Today The Public Relations Student Society of America has more than 9,600 members in 284 universities across the country. PRSA Chicago sponsors PRSSA chapters at the following universities:

  • Columbia College of Chicago
  • DePaul University
  • Indiana University Northwest
  • Loyola University of Chicago
  • Northern Illinois University
  • Valparaiso University

For More Information

To inquire about a new PRSSA chapter sponsorship, please send an email to the 2021 YPN Committee at [email protected].

For more information about, or to join PRSSA, visit